Miss Lucy
← All judgments

Kanubhai Gokalbhai Bariya vs Jaydipsinh Gopalsinh Parekhiya

Supreme Court7 May 2025Sudhanshu Dhulia

Ratio decidendi

The rule this decision rests on

Where an injured person's physical disability has been medically assessed and certified, the court should apply that certified functional disability assessment rather than adopt a different percentage based on the nature of the lost employment, even where the injury prevents the person from continuing in that specific occupation. In determining loss of income in a personal injury claim where the actual income has been proved at the date of injury, the court should calculate loss of income based on the income proved before the tribunal, with any uplift for future prospects applied to that base figure, rather than additionally increasing the income base itself before calculating loss over the extended period. Where a victim has suffered permanent disability requiring hospitalization and extended recovery, compensation for pain and suffering and attendant charges (including special diet) during the period of hospitalization should be assessed at levels reflecting the severity and duration of the hospitalization rather than nominal amounts. The court will apportion liability between multiple tortfeasors in the proportions that the trial tribunal found, notwithstanding that one insurer may not be present in the appellate proceedings, where the apportionment reflects the respective degrees of negligence established at trial.

Written by Miss Lucy from the judgment below, not taken from a headnote.

Judgment

As delivered

2025 INSC 641Non-ReportableIN THE SUPREME COURT OF INDIACIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTIONCIVIL APPEAL NO. OF 2025(@ Special Leave Petition (C) No. of 2025)(@Diary No. 20941 OF 2023)KANUBHAI GOKALBHAI BARIYA …APPELLANTVERSUSJAYDIPSINH GOPALSINHPAREKHIYA & ORS. …RESPONDENTSJ U D G M E NTK. VINOD CHANDRAN, J.1. Leave granted.

2. The appellant while travelling pillion in a bike met with an accident when a bus rammed into the bike, killing the driver of the bike and seriously injuring the appellant. The right leg of the appellant was amputated, below the knee and the right hand was also deformed from the injuries sustained. The appellant before the Tribunal sought a total compensation of Rs.35,00,000/-, asserting a salary of Rs. 12,000/- per month as a

CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023 watchman, which employment he was not able to continue after the accident, due to the amputation.

3. The Tribunal found contributory negligence on the bike driver which was apportioned @ 20% while the bus driver was found to be more negligent @ 80%. The Tribunal found that the income of the injured as per the documents produced clearly indicated Rs.9,918/- which was adopted for the purpose of deciding the loss of income which also was of a permanent nature due to the permanent physical disability suffered. The Tribunal relied on Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar1, to find 55% functional disability, for payment of Rs. 50,000/- and the income loss for 2 months was assessed at Rs. 20,000/. The medical bills coming to a total of Rs. 5,17,850/- was allowed with an additional amount of Rs. 10,000/- for special diet. The total compensation awarded by the Tribunal came to Rs.16,34,650/- with interest @ 9% per annum. The Tribunal directed the insurer of the bike and 1

(2011) 1 SCC 343

CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023 bus to compensate the petitioner respectively in a ratio of 20:80.

4. The High Court in the appeal granted 40% increase in the income as has been held in Pranay Sethi2. Actual loss of income was calculated for 6 months with the future prospects included. According to us, that may not be correct since 40% increase is to take in the future prospects of the injured and as on the date of accident when the income is proved, the loss of income should be based on the income proved before the Tribunal. We are conscious of the fact that the Insurance Company is not before us but since just compensation is to be paid, we reduce the same to Rs. 60,000/- for 6 months.

5. As far as the loss of future income is concerned, the Tribunal and the High Court adopted 55% as the disability. The learned Counsel appearing for the appellant would contend that he was working as a watchman and considering the amputation, his disability 2

(2017) 16 SCC 680

CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023 would be 100%. The appellant’s counsel would also seek for increase in the other heads including that for pain and suffering.

6. Raj Kumar1 found that the disability assessed for determining compensation should be the functional disability. In the present case the physical disability of the appellant was proved by the evidence of a doctor who examined him and assessed his physical disability.

The certificate proved by the doctor clearly indicated 80% disability with respect to his amputated leg and 10% disability insofar as the deformed right hand. The doctor had clearly deposed that the stump of the right leg was also deformed and there was no possibility of using an artificial limb. In such circumstances, we are of the opinion that the disability of the appellant would be 80% only considering the fact that the appellant could still move on crutches. The appellant had been in hospital for one and a half months and due to the amputation, would have definitely suffered bed rest for some time in the CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023 context of which the High Court has granted 6 months loss of income though the loss of income has been reduced by us. We are of the opinion that the pain and suffering of the appellant has to be increased along with an increase for special diet and attendant charges. The compensation for pain and suffering would be Rs.

1,00,000/- and the attendant charges including special diet for the period when the appellant was hospitalized; which the High Court determined as 6 months, would be @ Rs. 15,000/- per month, thus totalling to Rs. 1,90,000/-.

Hence the total compensation is as computed below:

S. No. Heads of claim Amount 1. Loss of income Rs. 9,818/- x 140% x 12 x 16 Rs. 21,11,262.72/- x 80%.

2. Attendant charges and special diet for 6 months @ Rs. 90,000/-

Rs. 15,000/-.

3. Medical Bills. Rs. 5,17,850/-

4. Pain and suffering. Rs. 1,00,000/-

5. Loss of income due to bed- Rs. 60,000 rest for 6 months.

Total compensation Rs. 28,79,112.72/-

CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023 7. The above amount shall be apportioned in the ratio of 20:80 as against the insurer of the bike and the bus. The awarded amounts shall be paid within a period of two months from today with interest @ 9% per annum as ordered by the Tribunal and whatever amounts have already been paid shall be deducted. The appellant shall provide the bank account details to the Insurance Companies who shall transfer the amount online within the period specified hereinabove.

8. The Appeal stands allowed with the above directions.

9. Pending application(s), if any, shall stand disposed of.

……………..……………, J.

[SUDHANSHU DHULIA]

……………..……………, J.

[K. VINOD CHANDRAN]

NEW DELHI;

MAY 07, 2025.

CA @ SLP(C) Diary No. 20941 of 2023

This page reproduces a public judgment and a summary of it. It is research material, not legal advice, and it is no substitute for advice from an advocate on your own facts.

Research this judgment with Miss Lucy

Ask what it holds, what has followed it, and what it means for your matter — in plain English, with the citations.

Try Miss Lucy free