Durga Shankar Maity vs Sebi
- CitationAppeal No. 246 of 2015
Ratio decidendi
The rule this decision rests on
A company's failure to disclose in its Red Herring Prospectus or Prospectus material information concerning the appointment of contractors and suppliers, advance payments made to them, and inter-corporate deposits raised to be repaid from issue proceeds, together with statements that no such agreements or bridge loans existed, constitutes a violation of the PFUTP Regulations and the ICDR Regulations, and the duty to disclose such information and to avoid misleading statements is shared by the company's chairman, managing director, chief executive officer, chief financial officer and company secretary, who cannot escape liability by relying on the merchant banker. Round-tripping of funds is established where advances paid to a contractor return to the company as inter-corporate deposits through connected intermediary entities, and such arrangement stands upheld on the facts found. Repayment of inter-corporate deposits from initial public offer proceeds does not amount to siphoning of those proceeds where the deposits were genuine, the borrowed funds were fully applied to the project for which they were raised, and the project is operational; the repayment of such deposits is therefore not a misutilisation of issue proceeds in the absence of any connection between the company and the party ultimately receiving the funds.
Written by Miss Lucy from the judgment below, not taken from a headnote.
Judgment
As delivered
BEFORE THE SECURITIES APPELLATE TRIBUNAL MUMBAI Order Reserved On: 06.03.2018 Date of Decision : 21.03.2018
Appeal No. 246 of 2015
1.
Brooks Laboratories Ltd.
2. Mr. Atul Ranchal
3. Mr. Rajesh Mahajan 502, 5th Floor, Kanakia Atrium-2, Next to Hotel Courtyard Marriott, Andheri Kurla Road, Andheri (East), Mumbai- 400 093 ...Appellants
Versus
Securities and Exchange Board of India, SEBI Bhavan, Plot No. C-4A, G-Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai - 400 051 ...Respondent
Mr. P. N. Modi, Senior Advocate with Mr. Vinay Chauhan, Ms. Kalpana Desai and Mr. K. C. Jacob, Advocates i/b Corporate Law Chambers India for Appellants.
Mr. Shyam Mehta, Senior Advocate with Mr. Mihir Mody and Mr. Nishant Upadhyay, Advocates i/b K. Ashar & Co. for the Respondent.
WITH Appeal No. 322 of 2015
Durga Shankar Maity 502, 5th Floor, Kanakia Atrium-2, Next to Hotel Courtyard Marriott, Andheri Kurla Road, Andheri (East), Mumbai- 400 093 ...Appellant
Versus
Securities and Exchange Board of India, SEBI Bhavan, Plot No. C-4A, G-Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai - 400 051 ...Respondent 2
Mr. Vinay Chauhan, Advocate with Mr. K. C. Jacob, Advocate i/b Corporate Law Chambers India for the Appellant.
Mr. Shyam Mehta, Senior Advocate with Mr. Mihir Mody and Mr. Nishant Upadhyay, Advocates i/b K. Ashar & Co. for the Respondent.
WITH Appeal No. 323 of 2015
Ketan Shah 350/5, Sharda Niwas, Jawahar Nagar, Goregaon (W), Mumbai- 400 062 ...Appellant
Versus
Securities and Exchange Board of India, SEBI Bhavan, Plot No. C-4A, G-Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai -400 051 ...Respondent
Mr. Vinay Chauhan, Advocate with Mr. K. C. Jacob, Advocate i/b Corporate Law Chambers India for the Appellant.
Mr. Shyam Mehta, Senior Advocate with Mr. Mihir Mody and Mr. Nishant Upadhyay, Advocates i/b K. Ashar & Co. for the Respondent.
AND Appeal No. 324 of 2015
Parvinder Kaur R/o. # 433, HMT Colony, Pinjore, Dist. Panchkula- 134113 ...Appellant
Versus
Securities and Exchange Board of India, SEBI Bhavan, Plot No. C-4A, G-Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai- 400 051 ...Respondent
Mr. Vinay Chauhan, Advocate with Mr. K. C. Jacob, Advocate i/b Corporate Law Chambers India for the Appellant.
Mr. Shyam Mehta, Senior Advocate with Mr. Mihir Mody and Mr. Nishant Upadhyay, Advocates i/b K. Ashar & Co. for the Respondent.
3
CORAM: Justice J.P. Devadhar, Presiding Officer Dr. C.K.G. Nair, Member
Per: Justice J.P. Devadhar
1. Appellants in all these appeals are aggrieved by the common order
passed by the Adjudicating Officer ("AO" for short) of Securities and
Exchange Board of India ("SEBI" for short) on January 12, 2015. By the
said order individual penalty on each appellant in all aggregating to
` 11.80 crore has been imposed under Section 15HA/ 15HB of SEBI Act
for violating SEBI (Prohibition of Fraudulent and Unfair Trade Practice
relating to Securities Market) Regulations, 2003 ("PFUTP Regulations"
for short) and SEBI (Issue of Capital and Disclosure requirements)
Regulations, 2009 ("ICDR Regulations" for short). Since the dispute in
all these appeals arise from the common order passed by the AO, all
these appeals are heard together and disposed of by this common
decision.
2. Brooks Laboratories Limited ("company" for convenience) is
engaged in research and manufacture of wide range of pharmaceutical
products catering to the critical care segment. Mr. Atul Ranchal and Mr.
Rajesh Mahajan (Appellant Nos. 2 & 3 in Appeal No. 246 of 2015) are
Chairman & Managing Director of the company. Mr. Durga Shankar
Maity (Appellant in Appeal No. 322 of 2015), Mr. Ketan Shah
(Appellant in Appeal No. 323 of 2015) and Ms. Parvinder Kaur
(Appellant in Appeal No. 324 of 2015) are the Chief Executive Officer,
Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of the company
respectively.
4
3. Facts relevant for disposal of these appeals are as follows:-
a) In the year 2009, the company decided to expand its
business by setting up an additional plant in JB SEZ
at Panoli, Gujarat.
b) On 01.06.2010, company paid ` 63,30,169/- as 10%
advance for acquiring a plot in JB SEZ.
c) Sometime in May 2010, D&A Financials Ltd., a
Merchant Banker suggested to the company to raise
funds for the above expansion project through the
Initial Public Offer ("IPO") and assured that they
would handle all the formalities. Accordingly, the
company appointed D&A Financial Ltd., as the
Merchant Banker for the IPO.
d) On 25.11.2010 Draft Red Herring Prospectus
("DRHP") was filed by the Merchant Banker before
SEBI.
e) Pursuant to an application made on 26.11.2010,
Bombay Stock Exchange Ltd., ("BSE") & National
Stock Exchange of India Limited ("NSE") granted in-
principle approval on 23.12.2010 & 03.02.2011
respectively for listing the shares of the company after
the IPO.
5
f) In the Annual Budget presented in February 2011, the
Government of India proposed to cut tax incentives
for new industries in Special Economic Zone (SEZs)
and proposed a deadline of 31.03.2012 for setting up
the manufacturing units in SEZs to avail the tax
incentives.
g) On 04.04.2011 JB SEZ called upon the company to
pay 20% of the purchase price of the plot as per the
Memorandum of Understanding ("MOU") entered
into by and between them. By letter dated 07.04.2011
the company refused to pay any amount by stating
that it will not pay until the infrastructure required to
start the plant was ready.
h) To avail the benefits of tax holiday as per the annual
budget, it was necessary for the company to ensure
that the new plant was set up in JB SEZ before
31.03.2012. Since the DRHP was still pending
clearance from SEBI, the company started exploring
options for short term funding for purchase of plant
and machinery /civil work for the new plant and
started short listing suppliers/ contractors for supply
of plant and machinery/ civil work. A Chartered
Accountant brought lenders who were agreeable to
give Inter Corporate Deposits ('ICD's') to the
company on interest.
6
i) On 25.05.2011 the Board of Directors of the company
passed a resolution to raise funds through ICD's from
(i) Shitalnath Buildcon Pvt. Ltd. (Shitalnath), (ii) Blue
Print Securities Ltd. (Blue Print), (iii) Konark
Commerce & Industries Ltd. (Konark), & (iv)
Shardaraj Trade Fin Ltd (Shardaraj). Similar
resolution were passed subsequently on 02.07.2011
and 21.07.2011 for raising funds through ICDs from
other parties. Thus the company raised ` 30.40 crore
by way of ICDs during the period from 30.05.2011 to
25.07.2011.
j) On 01.06.2011 the company entered into a contract
with Suryamukhi Projects Pvt. Ltd. ("Suryamukhi")
for supply of design, engineering, planning, civil
work, electrical work etc., for the new project.
Between 01.06.2011 to 04.06.2011 the company paid
` 15.30 crore to Suryamukhi so that they could
procure materials and tie up with sub-contractors for
commencing the work.
k) After the Chairman and Managing Director of the
company attended an International Conference in
China relating, inter alia, to Pharma Machinery and
equipment in June 2011, the company decided that for
the purpose of ensuring that the products 7
manufactured by the company meet the stringent
requirements for exports to the developed countries it
would be just and proper to import the machineries
for the new project rather than using the indigenous
machinery. Accordingly, on receiving proforma
invoice dated 20.06.2011 from Neo Power Universal
FZ LLC, UAE ('Neo Power'), the company paid
` 13.97 crore to Neo Power between 05.07.2011 to
30.08.2011 for importing the requisite machinery.
l) After SEBI Approved the DRHP dated 25.11.2010 on
01.08.2011, Red Herring Prospectus (RHP) was filed
by the company on 03.08.2011. Thereafter, the IPO
opened on 16.08.2011 and closed on 18.08.2011. The
prospectus was filed by the company with SEBI/
Registrar of Companies on 22.08.2011.
m) On 2/3.09.2011 the company received ` 61.03 crore
as the IPO proceeds from the Merchant Banker (after
deducting the issue related expenses). On 05.09.2011
the shares of the company were listed on the stock
exchanges.
n) Out of the IPO proceeds so received, the company
repaid ` 30.40 crore (along with interest after
deducting TDS) towards the ICDs availed by the
company. Further the company parked ` 14.40 crore 8
in fixed deposit and the remaining balance IPO
proceeds were temporarily utilized by the company
for the purposes in consonance with disclosures made
in the prospectus.
o) Sometime in October 2011 the promoters of the
company visited JB SEZ site to assess the
infrastructure development work and found that it was
too slow and it would not be possible to meet the
31.03.2012 deadline and accordingly requested
Suryamukhi & Neo Power not to commence work or
deliver any machineries.
p) On 17.12.2011 the Board of Directors of the company
passed a resolution to shift the project from JB SEZ in
Panoli to Domestic Tariff Zone (DTZ) in Vadodara
and secure the approval of the shareholders of the
company through postal ballot in that regard.
q) In the meantime, SEBI formed a prima facie opinion
that utilization of the IPO proceeds towards
repayment of ICD amounted to siphoning of funds.
SEBI also formed prima facie opinion that the
company and its Book Running Lead Manager
(BRLM) to the IPO had failed to disclose material
information in the DRHP/ prospectus. Accordingly by
an ad interim order dated 28.12.2011 the Whole Time 9
Member ("WTM" for short) of SEBI prohibited the
company and its promoters from accessing the
securities market until further orders and directed the
company to call back the advances given to
Suryamukhi and Neo Power and further directed that
unutilized IPO proceeds be deposited in an ESCROW
account.
r) By its letter dated 03.01.2012 the company called
upon Suryamukhi and Neo Power to return the
advance amount paid to them. However, Suryamukhi
informed the company that it cannot return the money
as it had already tied up with sub-contractors and had
procured raw materials required for the construction
work as contracted and that they were ready to start
the construction work whenever asked by the
company. Similarly, Neo Power informed the
company, that refund of advance amount was not
possible as it had already procured the machinery
and the same were ready for shipment at any time
desired by the company.
s) Between 28.01.2012 & 01.02.2012 postal ballot
resolution was duly passed by the shareholders of the
company to shift the project from JB SEZ to
Vadodara. On 03.02.2012 the company informed the
stock exchanges about the said resolution. 10
t) On 09.03.2012 the company bought 23,573 Sq. m. of
land at Vadodara for the new project. Immediately,
thereafter on 10.03.2012 the sub-contractor of
Suryamukhi commenced the development work and on
10.03.2012 itself the Ground Water Testing work at
Vadodara was undertaken by the sub-contractor of
Suryamukhi. Thereafter, on completion of other civil
work, Neo Power delivered 1st consignment of the
imported machinery to the appellant on 17.05.2012.
It is not in dispute that Suryamukhi and Neo Power
have discharged their obligation in relation to the
new project at Vadodara for which advance payments
were made to them in June-July 2011. It is also not in
dispute that new project at Vadodara is fully
functional.
u) On 09.07.2013 confirmatory order was passed by
SEBI thereby confirming the directions contained in
the ex-parte order dated 28.11.2011 until further
orders. Thereafter, show cause notice was issued to
the appellants and after considering the reply filed by
the appellants and after giving an opportunity of
hearing to the appellants, the AO of SEBI has passed
the impugned order on 12.01.2015. By the said order
it is held that the appellants are guilty of violating the
PFUTP Regulations and ICDR Regulations and 11
accordingly individual penalty has been imposed
under Section 15HA/15HB of SEBI Act in all
aggregating to ` 11.80 crore.
v) To complete the narration of facts we may also note
that the WTM of SEBI initiated proceedings against
the appellants for the same violations and passed an
order on 10.09.2015 thereby debarring the appellants
from accessing the securities market for 5 years from
the date of the ex-parte order dated 28.12.2011. The
WTM of SEBI has also permitted the company to use
the IPO funds of ` 14.40 crore kept in ESCROW
account for the purposes set out in the prospectus.
Appellants had filed appeal against the order of WTM
dated 10.09.2015. However, before the appeal could
be disposed of on merits the appellants suffered the
debarment specified in the order passed by the WTM
on 10.09.2015. Hence, the appeal became infructuous
and was disposed of accordingly.
4. Mr. Modi learned Senior Advocate and Mr. Chauhan, learned
counsel for appellants and Mr. Mehta learned Senior Advocate for SEBI
have extensively argued before us on behalf of their respective clients.
5. By the impugned order dated 12.01.2015 the AO of SEBI has
imposed penalty on the appellants on ground that the appellants have
committed the following violations:- 12
a) Appellants have fraudulently in complicit with
Suryamukhi indulged in round tripping of funds and
ultimately siphoned of ` 8 crore from the IPO
proceeds in the guise of repaying the ICDs.
b) Appellants transferred ` 2.50 crore from the IPO
funds to Overall Financial Consultants P. Limited
("Overall" for convenience) through layers of several
entities which were ultimately utilized by Overall to
trade in the scrip of the company and thus the losses
incurred by Overall were adjusted through the IPO
proceeds resulting in misutilization of IPO proceeds
to the extent of ` 2.5 crore.
c) Appointment of Suryamukhi for the project work and
advance payment of ` 15.30 crore to Suryamukhi for
the project work was a material information and a
risk factor required to be disclosed under the PFTUP
Regulations and under the ICDR Regulations.
However, the same were not disclosed. Moreover,
even after making advance payment of ` 15.30 crore
to Suryamukhi it was falsely stated in the RHP/
Prospectus that the cost of construction was ` 12.20
crore. Therefore, failure to disclose material facts
and making false and misleading statements in the
RHP/ Prospectus relation to the cost of construction 13
was in gross violation of the PFUTP Regulations and
ICDR Regulations.
d) Neither the appointment of Neo Power for supply of
plant and machinery nor advance payment of ` 13.97
crore made to Neo Power for supply of plant and
machinery was disclosed in the RHP/Prospectus.
Moreover, even after appointing Neo Power for
supply of plant and machinery and making advance
payment to Neo Power it was falsely stated in the
RHP/Prospectus that the company has not entered
into definitive agreement for supply of plant and
machinery. Thus, failure to disclose material facts,
and making false/ misleading statements in the RHP/
Prospectus in relation to supply of plant and
machinery was in violation of the PFUTP/ICDR
Regulations.
e) Raising funds by way of ICD to the extent of ` 30.40
crore to be repaid with interest from the IPO
proceeds was a material information required to be
disclosed under the PFUTP/ ICDR Regulations,
however, the said information was not disclosed in the
RHP/ Prospectus. On the contrary, it was falsely
stated in the RHP/ Prospectus that the company had
not entered into any bridge loan facility that would be 14
repaid from the IPO funds, which was in violation of
the PFUTP/ ICDR Regulations.
For all the aforesaid reasons, the AO has deemed it fit to impose
penalty on each appellant in all aggregating to ` 11.80 crore.
6. In our opinion, decision of the AO that the appellants have
indulged in round tripped of funds deserves to be upheld in view of facts
and for the reasons set out herein below:-
a) During May-July 2011 the Board of Directors of the
company resolved to borrow funds through ICDs from
several entities including Shitalnath, Blue Print,
Konark, Shardaraj and Sunshine.
b) Accordingly, on 30.05.2011 the company received ` 4
crore as ICD from Shitalnath.
c) On 01.06.2011 the company entered into an
agreement with Suryamukhi for supply of design,
engineering, planning, civil work, electrical work for
the new project and paid ` 4 crore to Suryamukhi as
advance even though there was no infrastructure
available for commencing the project work at JB SEZ.
d) On June 1 / 2, 2011, Suryamukhi transferred total
sum of ` 3.5 crore to Blue Print (through
Mangalmayee Hirise Pvt. Ltd.), Shardaraj, sunshine 15
Housecon Ltd. (Sunshine) and Konark (through
Pushpanjali Hirise Pvt. Ltd. and Balram Tie-up) and
on 02.06.2011 itself Blue Print, Shardaraj, Sunshine
and Konark paid to the company ` 3.50 crore by way
of ICDs. Thus, out of the amount of ` 4 crore paid by
the company to Suryamukhi,` 3.5 crore came back as
ICDs through Blue Print, Sunshine, Shardaraj, and
Konark.
e) Thereafter, on 02.06.2011 the company received
additional amount of ` 3 crore as ICD from
Shitanath.
f) On 03.06.2011 the company transferred ` 6 crore to
Suryamukhi and on 03.06.2011 itself Suryamukhi
transferred ` 4.5 crore to Konark and on the same
day Konark in turn transferred ` 4.5 crore as ICD to
the company.
g) Thereafter, on receipt of IPO proceeds, the company
repaid the ICDs with interest inter alia to Konark,
Blue Print, Shardaraj and Sunshine from the IPO
proceeds.
h) Aforesaid facts clearly show that the amounts
transferred by the company to Suryamukhi came back
to the company by way of ICD through four connected 16
entities, viz., Blue Print, Shardaraj, Sunshine and
Konark.
i) It is an admitted fact that till October 2011
infrastructure was not available at JB SEZ for
commencing the project work. In such a case, giving
advance amount to Suryamukhi on 01.06.2011 for the
project work cannot be said to be a bonafide decision
taken by the appellants.
j) Apart from the above, as per the agreement dated
01.06.2011 the project cost was to be paid to
Suryamukhi in installments. Thus, making advance
payment to Suryamukhi was not in consonance with
the agreement dated 01.06.2011 entered into by and
between the company and Suryamukhi.
k) On 04.04.2011 JB SEZ had called upon the company
to pay 20% of the purchase price, however, the
company declined to pay any amount till the
infrastructure was made available. Thus, the company
on one hand declined to pay any amount to JB SEZ
till the infrastructure was made available and on the
other hand made advance payment to Suryamukhi
even though infrastructure was not available for
commencing the project work.
17
l) It is interesting to note that on 01.06.2011 itself
Suryamukhi transferrered ` 3.50 crore to Blue Print,
Shardaraj, Sunshine and Konark, who in turn paid
that amount of ` 3.50 crore to the company on
02.06.2011 as by way of ICD.
m) Similarly, 03.06.2011 the company transferred ` 6
crore to Suryamukhi as advance. On the same day
Suryamukhi transferred ` 4.50 crore to Konark and
Konark in turn transferred ` 4.50 crore to the
company as and by way of ICD on the same day.
n) Thus, funds received from Shitalnath were rotated
through Suryamukhi and the four connected entities
viz., Konark, Sunshine, Blue Print and Shardaraj who
had common directors and had common address. In
these circumstances, the AO was justified in holding
that the appellants had indulged in round tripping of
funds.
7. Decision of the AO that ` 8 crore paid from the IPO funds to the
four connected entities towards repayment of the ICDs amounts the
siphoning of the IPO funds cannot be sustained for the following
reasons:-
a) Since the four connected entities viz., Konark,
Sunshine, Shardaraj and Blue Print had paid ` 8 18
crore by way of ICD only after receiving funds from
Suryamukhi, the AO arrived at a conclusion that the
said amount of ` 8 crore represented fictitious ICDs
and accordingly held that repayment of the said
amount of ` 8 crore from IPO funds amounts to
siphoning of the IPO funds.
b) It is relevant to note that the total amount raised by
the company by way of ICDs was ` 30.40 crore which
included ICD of ` 8 crore received from the four
connected entities. Out of the amount of ` 30.40
crore raised through ICDs, ` 15.30 crore was paid by
the company as advance payment to Suryamukhi
towards the project work. It is not in dispute that
Suryamukhi commenced the project work at Vadodara
on 10.03.2012 and utilized entire amount of ` 15.30
crore for completing the said project and it is not in
dispute that the said project is fully operational. Since
the entire amount of ` 15.30 crore paid by the
company to Suryamukhi from the funds received
through ICDs has been fully utilized for the project
work, the AO is not justified in holding that the ICDs
to the extent of ` 8 crore received from the four
connected entities were fictitious ICDs. 19
c) Although AO has held, in the impugned order that
Suryamukhi submitted bills only to the extent of
` 14.09 crore, counsel for the appellants
demonstrated before us, that Suryamukhi had also
done the electrical installation work at the project site
and the AO has failed to consider bills relating to
electrical installation work submitted by Suryamukhi.
It is not in dispute that if the bills relating to electrical
installation work given by Suryamukhi is taken into
consideration, the total amount utilized for the project
work at Vadodara by Suryamukhi would be ` 15.30
crore.
d) Fact that Suryamukhi before commencing the project
work on 10.03.2012, had paid ` 8 crore to four
connected entities and the said connectecd entities in
turn had paid that amount of ` 8 crore as ICDs to the
company cannot be a ground to hold that the amount
of ` 8 crore received by the company from the four
entities were fictitious because, admittedly, entire
amount of ` 15.30 crore paid as advance has been
used by Suryamukhi for the project work. In such a
case, fact that Suryamukhi, before commencing the
project work had advanced ` 8 crore to four
connected entities and the said four connected entities
had advanced ` 8 crore by way of ICDs cannot be a
ground to hold that the ICDs to the extent of ` 8 crore 20
were fictitious and illusory. Consequently, repayment
of the said amount of ` 8 crore from the IPO proceeds
cannot be said to be siphoning of IPO proceeds. In
these circumstances, decision of the AO that ` 8 crore
has been siphoned-off from the IPO proceeds cannot
be sustained.
8. Decision of the AO that the appellants have misutilized IPO funds
by financing ` 2.50 crore to Overall through layers of several entities is
also unsustainable for the following reasons:-
a) Admittedly, the company has not paid ` 2.50 crore to
Overall. In fact, the company had paid ` 2.50 crore
from the IPO proceeds to Konark and Shardaraj
towards repayment of ICDs given by them. Konark
and Shardaraj thereupon paid ` 2.50 crore to Overall
which was utilized by Overall for trading in the scrip
of the company and thereby incurred loss of ` 2.19
crore.
b) In the impugned order the AO has recorded a clear
finding that there is no connection between the
company and Overall. In such a case, fact that
Konark and Shardaraj on receiving ` 2.50 crore as
repayment of ICDs, gave that amount to Overall for
buying/ selling the shares of the company, cannot be a
ground to hold that ` 2.50 crore was paid by the 21
appellants from the IPO funds to finance Overall to
trade in the shares of the company.
c) Fact that the company had raised ` 2.50 crore from
Konark and Shardaraj by way of ICDs is not in
dispute. Having received ` 2.50 crore from Konark
and Shardaraj the company was obliged to repay
` 2.50 crore with interest to Konark and Shardaraj.
Accordingly, on receipt of IPO proceeds the company
was justified in repaying ` 2.50 crore with interest
from the IPO proceeds to Konark and Shardaraj.
Fact that Konark and Shardaraj on receiving ` 2.50
crore from the company paid that amount to Overall
could not be considered as payment by the company
to overall through Konark and Shardraj especially
when no connection is established between the
company and Overall. In these circumstances,
decision of the AO that repayment of ` 2.50 crore
from the IPO proceeds amounts to siphoning of ` 2.50
crore from the IPO proceeds cannot be sustained.
Consequently, payment of ` 2.50 crore to Konark and
Shardaraj from IPO funds cannot be said to be
misutilization of IPO funds.
9. Decision of the AO that the appellants have failed to disclose
appointment of Suryamukhi for the project work, failed to disclose 22
advance payment of ` 15.30 crore made to Suryamukhi and further made
false/ misleading statement in the RHP/ Prospectus relating to the cost of
the project and thereby violated the PFUTP Regulations and ICDR
Regulations deserves acceptance for the following reasons:-
a) Awarding the project work to Suryamukhi and giving
advance amount of ` 15.30 crore was a material
information and hence required to be disclosed to the
investors. While it was open to the appellants to
reject the lower offer given by Syal and Associates
and accept the offer given by Suryamukhi, once the
offer given by Suryamukhi was accepted and an
agreement was entered into for the project work, the
appellants were obliged to disclose the same to the
investors in the RHP/ Prospectus.
b) It is relevant to note that advance payment of ` 15.30
crore was made to Suryamukhi between 1st June, 2011
to 4th June 2011 whereas RHP was filed subsequently
on 03.08.2011 and the prospectus was filed thereafter
on 22.08.2011. Thus, it is evident that in the RHP/
Prospectus material fact relating to advance payment
of ` 15.30 crore to Suryamukhi has not been
disclosed.
23
c) Apart from the above, it was wrongly stated in the
RHP/ Prospectus that the cost of construction of the
project was ` 12.20 crore. Since, ` 15.30 crore was
already paid to Suryamukhi towards the cost of
construction before filing of RHP/ Prospectus, it is
apparent that the appellants have made false and
misleading statement in the RHP/ Prospectus in
relation to the cost of construction.
d) Making advance payment of ` 15.30 crore to
Suryamukhi even when there was no infrastructure
available at JB SEZ for developing the project was
clearly a risk factor in terms of Clause 1(iv) of Part A
of Schedule VII of the ICDR Regulations and was
therefore, required to be disclosed in the
RHP/Prospectus. Moreover, in Section III of the
RHP/ Prospectus, especially in para 6 thereof, it was
stated that the company has not entered into any
definitive agreement to utilize the net proceeds of the
IPO funds, which was clearly a false statement.
Under, Clause 1(VII) (F) of the ICDR Regulations
deployment of funds are required to be disclosed in
the RHP/ Prospectus. In the table containing the
details of deployment of funds at Page 77 of the
RHP/Prospectus it was stated that no amount has
been spent towards civil works/ construction as on
31.07.2011 and that the estimated amount was 24
` 12.20 crore which was a false and misleading
statement because in June 2011 the appellants had
paid advance amount of ` 15.30 crore to Suryamukhi
towards civil works/ cost of construction.
e) Argument advanced on behalf of the appellants that
advance payments were made to Suryamukhi so that
they are ready to commence work immediately on
being told to do is without any merit, because, firstly,
there was no infrastructure available for commencing
project work and JB SEZ immediately and there was
no reason to believe that the infrastructure would be
made available at JB SEZ in the near future.
Secondly, even the agreement entered into with
Suryamukhi on 01.06.2011 did not provide for
advance payment. Thirdly, having declined to give
advance amount to JB SEZ for providing
infrastructure, there was no reason for the appellants
to make advance payment to Suryamukhi. In any event
above material facts ought to have been disclosed in
the prospectus. Argument that the Merchant Banker
was responsible for the above lapses has no merit,
because, under the regulations framed by SEBI
appellants were equally responsible to ensure that
true and all material information were disclosed in
the RHP/ Prospectus.
25
f) For the aforesaid reasons, decision of the AO that the
appellants have failed to disclose material facts
relating to appointment of Suryamukhi, failed to
disclose advance payment of ` 15.30 crore made to
Suryamukhi and further made false and misleading
statements in the RHP/ Prospectus in gross violation
of PFUTP Regulations and ICDR Regulations cannot
be faulted.
10. Decision of the AO that the appellants have failed to disclose
appointment of Neo Power for supply of plant and machinery, failed to
disclose advance payment of ` 13.97 crore made to Neo Power and
further made false and misleading statement in the RHP/Prospectus
relating to supply of plant and machinery, in violation of PFUTP
Regulations and ICDR Regulations deserves acceptance for the following
reasons:-
a) Admittedly, appellants in June-July 2011 had placed
orders with Neo Power for supply of plant and
machinery and had made advance payments to Neo
Power on 5th July, 21st July, 25th July and 2nd August,
2011 in all amounting ` 13.97 crore. However, in
the RHP and the prospectus subsequently filed on
03.08.2011 and 22.08.2011 respectively these facts
were not disclosed. Appointing Neo Power (Foreign
Supplier) for supplying plant and machinery and
paying advance amount of ` 13.97 crore to Neo 26
Power even when there was no infrastructure
available for commencing the project work at JB SEZ,
was a material information and also a risk factor
which ought to have been disclosed as per the PFUTP
Regulations and the ICDR Regulations.
b) Apart from the above, in Section III of the RHP (Pg.
13) and particularly in para 6 thereof (Pg. 15) it was
expressly stated that the company has not entered into
any definitive agreement to utilize the net proceeds to
the issue and had not placed any order for purchase
of plant and machinery required for the project. It
was further stated that the company has received
certain quotations from the Indian Suppliers for
supply of plant and machinery. Since, the appellants
had already appointed Neo Power (Foreign Supplier)
and had paid ` 13.97 crore to Neo Power for supply
of plant and machinery, it is apparent that false and
misleading statements were made in the RHP/
Prospectus that no agreement has been entered into
for utilizing the IPO proceeds and no order has been
placed for purchase of plant and machinery.
c) Assuming that the plant and machinery supplied by
Neo Power are of superior quality and by awarding
contract to Neo Power the company has saved
substantial amount, these facts being material 27
information could not be suppressed in the RHP/
Prospectus.
d) Therefore, in the facts of present case, decision of the
AO that the appellants have failed to disclose material
information relating to appointment of Neo power,
failed to disclose advance payment of ` 13.97 crore to
Neo Power and made false/ misleading statement in
the RHP/ Prospectus relating to purchase of plant and
machinery in violation of the PFUTP/ ICDR
Regulations cannot be faulted.
11. Decision of the AO that the appellants are guilty of not disclosing
funds raised through ICDs and thereby violated PFUTP Regulations and
ICDR Regulations deserves acceptance for the following reasons:-
a) Fact that the company pursuant to the resolutions
passed by the Board of Directors received ICDs
aggregating to ` 30.40 crore from several parties
during the period from May to July 2011 not in
dispute. Raising such funds with interest liability was
clearly a material information required to be
disclosed. However, neither in the RHP filed on
03.08.2011 nor in the prospectus filed on 22.08.2011
above facts were disclosed.
28
b) This tribunal in the case of P. G. Electroplast Ltd. V/s
SEBI (Appeal No. 144 of 2014 decided on
30.08.2016) has held that raising funds through ICD
was in the nature of a bridge loan and hence,
required to be disclosed in the RHP/Prospectus.
c) Even under the ICDR Regulations, particularly
Clause 2(VII)(F) of Part-A of Schedule VIII thereof,
the sources of funds for a project are required to be
disclosed in the offer document.
d) Moreover, in the RHP/ Prospectus filed by the
company it was stated that the company has not
entered into any bridge loan facility that would be
repaid from the IPO fund. Having raised ` 30.40
crore by way of ICDs to be repaid through IPO
proceeds, the appellants could not have stated in the
RHP/ Prospectus that the company has not entered
into any bridge loan to be repaid from the IPO
proceeds.
e) Argument that the merchant banker is responsible for
not disclosing the ICDs in RHP/ Prospectus is without
any merit. Appellants were equally responsible to
ensure that all material information was disclosed
and further ensure that false/ misleading statements
were not made in the RHP/ Prospectus.
29
f) Therefore, in the facts of present case, decision of the
AO that the appellants have failed to disclose material
information relating to funds raised through ICDs
and further made false statement in the RHP /
Prospectus that they have not entered into any bridge
loan to be repaid from the IPO funds, was in gross
violation of PFUTP Regulations and ICDR
Regulations cannot be faulted.
12. To sum up,
a) Decision of the AO that the appellants have indulged
in round tripping of funds is upheld.
b) Decision of the AO that receipt of ` 8 crore by way of
ICDs from the four connected entities was a fictitious
and illusory ICD and hence repayment of ` 8 crore to
the four connected entities amounts to siphoning of
IPO funds cannot be sustained.
c) Decision of the AO that the appellants have
misutilized ` 2.50 crore from IPO funds by financing
Overall through layer of entities, to trade in the
shares of the company cannot be sustained.
d) Decision of the AO that failure to disclose material
information relating to appointment of Suryamukhi 30
for the project work and failure to disclose advance
payment of ` 15.30 crore made to Suryamukhi was
in violation of the PFUTP Regulations and ICDR
Regulations is upheld.
e) Decision of the AO that false and misleading
statements were made in the RHP and Prospectus
relating to the cost of construction in violation of the
PFUTP Regulations and ICDR Regulations is upheld.
f) Decision of the AO that failure to disclose
appointment of Neo Power for supply of plant and
machinery and failure to disclose advance payment of
` 13.97 crore made to Neo Power was in violation of
PFUTP Regulations and ICDR Regulations is upheld.
g) Decision of the AO that even after appointing Neo
Power for supply of plant and machinery, false and
misleading statements were made in the RHP and
Prospectus relating to the purchase of plant and
machinery, in violation of PFUTP Regulations and
ICDR Regulations is upheld.
h) Decision of the AO that the appellants have failed to
disclose raising of funds amounting to ` 30.40 crore
through ICDs in the RHP and the Prospectus in
violation of PFUTP Regulations and ICDR
Regulations is upheld.
31
i) Decision of the AO that false and misleading
statements were made in the RHP/Prospectus that the
company has not raised any bridge loan to be repaid
from the IPO proceeds in violation of PFUTP
Regulations and ICDR Regulations is upheld.
13. Question then to be considered is, whether, the AO is justified in
imposing individual penalty in all aggregating to ` 11.80 crore on the
appellants.
14. Failure to disclose material information and making false/
misleading statements in the RHP/ Prospectus constitutes serious
violation of the PFUTP/ ICDR Regulations. Appellants who are
Chairman, Managing Director, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial
Officer and Company Secretary of the Company cannot escape penal
liability for the aforesaid violations by merely stating that they had relied
on the merchant banker. Appellants were equally responsible to ensure
that all material facts were disclosed and further ensure that false and
misleading statements were not made in the RHP/ Prospectus. Penalty
imposable for such violations is up to ` 25 crore under Section 15HA and
up to ` 1 crore under Section 15HB of SEBI Act.
15. After considering all mitigating factors, the AO has imposed
individual penalty in all aggregating to ` 11.80 crore. However, as we
have held that the decision of the AO that repayment of ICDs amounting
to ` 10.50 crore (` 8 crore + ` 2.50 crore) from the IPO proceeds 32
amounts to siphoning of ` 10.50 crore from the IPO proceeds cannot be
sustained, penalty imposed on the appellants to that extent deserves to be
deleted.
16. Thus, considering the fact that though belatedly the project at
Vadodara is fully operational and the appellants have already undergone
debarment for 5 years, we modify the impugned order and direct each
appellant to pay penalty as follows:-
a) Brooks Laboratories Ltd., shall pay consolidated
penalty of ` 15 lac to SEBI within one month from
today.
b) Mr. Atul Ranchal (Chairman), Mr. Rajesh Mahajan
(Managing Director) & Durga Shankar Maity
(CEO)of Brooks Laboratories Ltd., shall pay
consolidated penalty of ` 35 lac each to SEBI within
one month from today.
c) Mr. Ketan Shah (CFO) and Ms. Parvinder Kaur
(Company Secretary) of Brooks Laboratories Ltd.,
shall pay consolidated penalty of ` 5 lac each to SEBI
within one month from today.
17. If the appellants fail to pay the aforesaid penalty within one month
from today, then SEBI shall be entitled to recover the above penalty from
each appellant with interest as provided under the SEBI Act. 33
18. All four appeals are disposed of in the aforesaid terms with no
order as to costs.
Sd/-
Justice J.P. Devadhar Presiding Officer
Sd/-
Dr. C.K.G. Nair Member 21.03.2018 Prepared & Compared By: PK
This page reproduces a public judgment and a summary of it. It is research material, not legal advice, and it is no substitute for advice from an advocate on your own facts.
Research this judgment with Miss Lucy
Ask what it holds, what has followed it, and what it means for your matter — in plain English, with the citations.
Try Miss Lucy free